Apple have got a new fanboy

I turned 21 just last month and now (thanks to very generous friends and family) I have become an Apple user.

Previously I had only ever owned an iPod shuffle, which lets face it, is probably the weakest product in the Apple family.

Having only every used PC I was always envious of the people strutting around with their macbooks, whizzing through programs with their billion hour battery life. At the same time im struggling to load Football Manager on what is actually a (in reality) very good Sony laptop.

Anyway, as I said I was very lucky to get a lot of money for my birthday to contribute towards my pipe dream of owning a shiny 27″ iMac.

Now, I hate fanboys with a passion. Sniggering at PC and Android users as if they are tech ‘noobs’ and too poor to own Steve Jobs’ new magical device. iPhones, while being beautifully designed don’t really do anything better than top end smart phones like HTC and Samsung. iPods are, I feel, a dying bit of kit. And iPads, well don’t get me started there.

While clearly being one of the hippest brands going there is clearly a divide between the PC majority and the growing Apple brigade. And oh my have I switched to the other side.

This is where my new-found fanboyness is about to spill out all over this blog. I went to the Covent Garden store and was greeted by some of the friendliest staff ever. Not creepy friendly, but relaxed, intelligent and helpful friendly. They talked me through my options, not treating me like the Apple newbie I so clearly was. They go through all your options, give you recommendations and let you play around with a potential future purchase. I decided pretty quickly what I was going to go for: the 27″ behemoth of a machine (sitting at my desk writing this now I can’t see anything else, my peripheral vision is engulfed by the screen). Being a student I got a healthy discount and got Apple care for basically free. Top banana.

The quality is unrivalled. Nothing comes close. Even the box and packaging is brilliantly designed ffs!

Beloved follower, feast on this:

As the well-known phrase goes: Once you go Mac, you never go back.

Amen.

One thought on “Apple have got a new fanboy

Leave a comment