Everyone has a photographic memory, but not everyone has film

I recently shared with your two of my favourite websites (Yanko and Re-working Titles) now I’m about to let you have two more.

I’m not a photographer, nor have I ever wanted to be. However, what I do appreciate are photographers. The patience and skill it takes to capture that one moment of magic is truly a real gift.

Now, I didnt always think like that. As a student I always loved painting. Art was massive for me at school, often spending my free time in the Art department finishing off the final touches of my ‘Starry Night’ or ‘Creation of Man’ usually spending hours on end until I deemed it complete. This resulted in a hatred for photography students (point and click, whats so hard about that?). I often would think to myself: “How can you get such praise for something that took 1/1000 of a second to do, whereas I get the same grade for 20 hours graft?”

Obviously, since then I have matured greatly (yeah right) and grown to appreciate the genuine skill it takes to capture a great photo.  As I said, I’m not a photographer (just because you own an SLR doesn’t mean you are either!) but I do know people who are.

Firstly, a good friend of mine from Jersey, Paul Marshall.

Paul is reasonably new to photography, and from what I know he has been doing a course, so has been trying out new techniques. This has resulted in quite a wide range of styles in his growing portfolio.

Le Rocque by Paul Marshall

Being from Jersey I always look at Paul’s work whenever I get home sick or forget that just because London is often grey and miserable doesn’t mean everywhere is!

Mont Orguiel (Gorey Castle, Jersey) by Paul Marshall

“I currently have a few of my canvases on display and for sale at Cino’s Coffee Shop Cafe in Halkett Street, St Helier, Jersey. Why not have a look whilst grabbing a coffee in this chilly weather!”

He has set up his own Facebook page and website so you can check it out:

http://www.facebook.com/snapandcapture

http://www.snapandcapture.co/


Secondly I would like to introduce my uncle, Andy Stevens.

Whereas Paul has the stunning Island as Jersey as his muse, Andy has the equally beautiful New Forest, Purbeck Hills and Dorset Coast. Having been a photographer since his early 20’s Andy has built up an incredible visual language which is evident in all his work. I have been a big fan of Andy’s work and even own a print of the exquisite Durdle Door.

Durdle Door by Andy Stevens

Fortunately while spending Christmas with family down in Dorset we spent an afternoon at Moors Valley Country park where Andy was exhibiting some of his work. (ran from Dec 4th – Jan 16th)

I think this is the point where and when my photographic epiphany occurred. Such a strong body of work laid out in front of you, each one brilliant in its own way. The one that really stuck with me was of Corfe Castle. It wan not only one of the few places depicted in the exhibition that I had been to but the sweeping mist made it look like a Scottish Highlands relic.

Corfe Castle at Dusk by Andy Stevens

All his work can be found on his website:

http://www.andrewstevensphotography.co.uk/index.html

 

I hope you enjoy their work as much as I do.

Leave a comment