Sorry for my absence

It’s been far too long followers.

Unfortunately Apple have decided to release an new iPad, which means I’m filled with rage and will soon be releasing my tirade upon the money grabbing megatron that is Apple.

Before I do, I wanted to share with you some interesting website/designers I have come across recently.

Firstly: Yanko

http://www.yankodesign.com//

Yanko Design is a web magazine dedicated to introducing the best modern international design, covering from industrial design, concepts, technology, interior design, architecture, exhibition and fashion. It’s about the cutting edge and the classic, the new and the rediscovered. It’s all about the best.

They use the tagline “Form Beyond Function”: An argument I partially covered while writing my dissertation. There is a growing battle between designers who usually side with either form or function when it comes to design.

Check it out, there is some brilliant and some brilliantly quirky work on there.

 

Secondly: (re)working titles

http://reworkingtitles.tumblr.com

As a lover of film posters (I have 10 posters in my room, 7 are film based) this blog was right up my proverbial street.  I first came across it on a football forum of all places. A guy had set himself a project of re-designing classic or well known film posters, to such great demand that he now sells them for £25 each.

The sheer quality of the work, coupled with the outstanding visual language makes each one is individually exceptionable while still keeping to strict themes (Notice the strong connections in the Alfred Hitchcock and Christopher Nolan posters).

 

Anyway, enjoy browsing those sites, Im off to do some project research before planning my written assault on iPads and iPrats.

Leave a comment